What is Link-gen and How to use it?

What is Link-gen and How to use it?

⚑To Supercharge your 'Link in Bio'

Β·

3 min read

Introduction

Hey Readers πŸ‘‹

This is me writing my first ever blog, the sole purpose of me writing this blog is to participate in the ongoing Feb Netlify X Hashnode Hackathon.

I'm so excited for this as I have never participated in any other Hackathons prior to this, Writing a blog and participating in a Hackathon both will be a totally new experience for me.

I'm looking forward to writing more blogs sharing my learnings and experiences.

Link-gen is an Open Source react project and It is a static 'Link in Bio' generator, which let user list all of their online links and style them to their need And generate a single HTML file to download. So, they can easily work with and easily host on their own.

Why I built this ❓

It all started from me trying to use a background image for my linktree and unable to that as I have not subscribed to linktree and customizing your linktree is a paid feature. So, I built a 'Link in Bio' page similar to what linktree provide with HTML and CSS but it was not a good experience writing code everytime I feel like changing a link. So I thought of making something similar to linktree myself, I found Open Source projects somewhat related but all of them were missing the customization feature which is the main reason of all this me trying to built something myself then I took it as a project and I built Link-pile, an Open Source 'Link in Bio' service.

Originally Link-gen was a feature-branch of Link-pile then I saw an unique use case for the feature and decided to keep it separate from it's core project.

Tech Stack πŸ› οΈ

  • react.js
  • tailwind CSS

And hosted on Netlify : link-gen.netlify.app

  • Add your name, bio and a nice picture of yours

chrome_612mM6k9vc.png

  • Add your valuable links and embeds

7FSUECzXp.jpg

  • Customize the style of links and background

chrome_CvAujUNZBs.png

  • Click on Download Code, which will generate a HTML file and download for you

chrome_X5Gop1Oa5L.png

  • After downloaded the generated HTML file you can open it on any web browser or text editor you like

If you just want a Link In Bio page and no analytics at all, It is a really a good choice as you don't have to pay anything at all. You can host your own on your favorite hosting service or you can even host it for free on Github pages or you can consider Netlify, As they give you free hosting for a huge amount of bandwidth, which probably you are not going to consume anyways.

How Can I Contribute?πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»

If you are a developer and you want to contribute to the project or just wanted to give a glance on the source code which is not much,

Here is the Github repository Link-gen repo

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Goutam Nath by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β